Awesome Starter Kit

From a post by VeganFuture on Twitter, I discovered this Vegan Starter Kit for Teens.  It seems like everything I read like this, meant for people younger than me, is actually really beneficial to me.  I think it’s because I’m still fairly new to the vegan lifestyle.  I understand exactly why I love eating vegan and not eating animal products, but when I think about explaining that to someone else… I don’t even know where I’d begin.  This especially goes to people who are absolutely certain that I’m going to develop an enormous amino acid deficiency in a few years because I can only get them from animal products.  Well, of course I questioned everything I was doing after I heard that.  It turns out this person was wrong in their assumption anyway, but it really does help to be educated about your personal beliefs. 

 That’s why I’m really loving this starter kit, because it is to-the-point and explains exactly what vegans need to make sure they eat to stay healthy, and why being vegan just makes sense. It even covers vegetarianism in the Bible!  I absolutely love living this way and I love reading about it.

A paragraph from it:

“Unfortunately, because animal byproducts are so cheap, companies have put them in so many things that avoiding all of them is impossible. Many vegans eventually decide that it is not important to avoid every single ingredient at any cost. Instead, it is more important to avoid the more obvious products of animal exploitation and use our energy to persuade others to do the same.  When more people avoid the obvious animal products, the byproducts will become less plentiful and more expensive; companies will replace them with other materials. In other words, persuading one person to give up eating chicken will likely do more good than if hundreds of vegans went from 99% to 99.9% pure.”

About Lauren Valko

I'm a writer, blogger, and sometimes-YouTuber passionate about mental health awareness and helping others feel well in mind and body. Topics dear to my heart include adult ADHD, anxiety, mindfulness, and self-compassion. I love getting lost in good books, rich coffee, and deep conversations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment